After the Turkey…

Really after the turkey is cooked and eaten, what do you do with the leftovers? There has to be leftovers as that is the best part of a turkey dinner!

I do a couple of recipes. But here is my family’s favorite, turkey enchiladas.

Ingredients:

TURKEY! (shredded or small pieces)

Enchilada Sauce (1 can)

Burrito sized tortillas

Black Olives (diced or sliced)

Chopped Onions (1/2 cup) (optional – You can omit this ingredient if you prefer)

Shredded Cheese (Mexican blend)

Sour Cream (optional)

Makes approximately 1 dozen.

Other supplies:

9 x 13 pan, frying pan, tongs, bowl for onions, and foil.  I work out of the cans/bags for everything else. Makes for less cleanup.

I don’t make the enchilada sauce myself. I’m happy to buy the canned variety. Not the normal size one, but the larger cans. The black olives, I usually buy a small can of diced olives. Sliced worked equally as well. I use a pre shredded cheese, too.

I’m all about making it easy, especially after having made a huge meal!

You can do it all from scratch if you prefer, so have everything chopped and ready to go before turning on your frying pan. I prefer my cast iron skillet, but that is a personal choice.

Have a 9 x 13 pan available and ready on the counter. Heat up your frying pan and have your tongs ready.

Pour your enchilada sauce into the frying pan. Heat it up to a simmer. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Dip a tortilla in the sauce. This is where you’ll need the tongs! The sauce gets hot. I use my fingers until I can’t anymore, then the tongs. Make sure the tortilla is covered on both sides. It is just a quick dip.

Put the tortilla flat in the 9 x 13 pan. In the center, add turkey, black olives, onions and a bit of cheese. Roll, move to the end of the pan.

Repeat until pan is full and enchiladas are snug against each other. I can usually put a dozen in a pan.

Drizzle the left over enchilada sauce over the 9 x 13 pan and sprinkle cheese and black olives over it.

Cover with foil. Pop it into the preheated oven.

Bake for 45 minutes at 350 degrees. Basically, you’re cooking all the ingredients together so it is one yummy mouth melting taste. Serve with sour cream on top when ready to eat.

Turkey Enchiladas

This entry was posted in Tuesday Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

