How is your garden going?

My garden is a mess of weeds! The only thing growing is what we are guessing is a burdock. The confirmation is still out, we’re waiting on it to flower, but it sure looks like the pictures that I found online. 

What good is it? Well, I actually found this information on WebMD:

Burdock is a plant. The root is sometimes used as food. The root, leaf, and seed are used to make medicine.

People take burdock to increase urine flow, kill germs, reduce fever, and “purify” theirblood. It is also used to treat colds, cancer, anorexia nervosa, gastrointestinal (GI) complaints, joint pain (rheumatism), gout, bladder infections, complications of syphilis, and skin conditions including acne and psoriasis. Burdock is also used for high blood pressure, “hardening of the arteries” (arteriosclerosis), and liver disease. Some people use burdock to increase sex drive.

Burdock is applied to the skin for dry skin (ichthyosis), acne, psoriasis, and eczema.

Burdock has been associated with poisonings because some products have been contaminated with root of belladonna or deadly nightshade. These herbs contain a poisonous chemical called atropine.

How does it work?

Burdock contains chemicals that might have activity against bacteria and inflammation.

Now, I’m not positive this is burdock. I’m not willing to ingest, inhale or otherwise consume this unless I’m sure. When it flowers I should be able to positively identify it. I’ve actually had more fun trying to find out what weeds I have growing in my yard than planting. Especially as so far nothing has come up besides the pepper plants I have growing in my dining room!

The knowledge of our world around us could one day be the difference between life and death.

What plants do you have around you?

This entry was posted in Gardening, Tuesday Tips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

