#Survival guide ~ How to build a snare ~ #StealingHope research

Why do I want to know this? Am I going to try it?

Well, I researched it for my upcoming book Stealing Hope A Dragon’s Fated Heart. It is interesting and well, if I was stuck out in the woods, lost, and alone, I’d want this knowledge. I’m assuming that I’d have something necessary with to start a fire. I do carry around a waterproof fire starter.

Don’t ask, šŸ™‚ my husband just shook his head. I keep one in my slowly building Bug Out Bag, BOB, and a second in my car. My purse is just too heavy to cram more stuff in it!

So I can start a fire. But what would I cook? I live in Wisconsin so there is no shortage of small game. My own backyard looks like a rabbit colony on the ground and a squirrel colony in the trees. They have so little fear of me that the squirrels actually throw walnuts at me if I get too close. Damn creatures! They’ve got really good aim.

So I looked up how to build a snare. There is a lot of places to look! Some are much more elaborate than others.

Yes I plan to build one. A non lethal one as I don’t want to kill any of the creatures in my backyard, but one that could be. I just want to snare one. Though I’m planning on a rabbit as the squirrels (which are large enough to overpower a chihuahua) already have me in their sites. A catch and release situation as I’m not starving and this is for research purposes only.

One video explains how to build one using two heavy sticks, tied together in an upside down V format with the legs stuck in the ground and in deep enough so that the animal can’t accidentally destroy it. This has to be near a live sapling that you strip the leaves off of. Behind the V you put a single stick in the ground so that it is at least as tall as the V. Take a fourth stick (bait stick) and place it under the joint of the V and press it against the single stick in back. Cut a bit of a notch so that the bait stick doesn’t slip off.

Cut a thin slice all around the sapling so the rope has a notch to sit in. Make the rope the length of the sapling. 6″ down from theĀ top of the saplingĀ tie the rope onto the bait stick. Insert the bait stick between the V and place into the notch on the single stick. It should be held into place. Take the rope and form a snare loop in the end of it and place on the ground in front of the bait stick.

Put your bait on it and Voila! Now it’s time to wait.

Here’s a video that show’s the steps:

Another shows using 2 long sticks, 2 short sticks, a sapling and a snare.

Put the long sticks in the ground next to each other in a horseshoe shape, ensuring they are placed deep in the ground. Place one short stick between the two horseshoe shapes so it is horizontal to the ground. Tie the snare onto one end of theĀ other short stick and place it so that the knotted end slips under horseshoe sticks with the snare knot on one side and the stick on the other. It is standing in a vertical position. The short stick on the bottom helps hold it in place. Spread out the snare so that an animal can go through it.

I assume that somehow bait would be involved otherwise why would an animal meander through it?

Here is the video for this one.

I’ve mentioned these two as you don’t really need anything else but rope for the snare line. A knife would be handy but not necessary to build the snares. If you didn’t have rope, shoe laces would do.

How you would take care of the animal you caught is a totally different story! The one thing I’d mention, make sure that animals pass where you build your snare. In the woods you should be able to see the path they use. No use building it if you’ll never see an animal!

I hope you enjoyed this. See, research can really be interesting.

This entry was posted in Survival Guide, Tuesday Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

